Why do I do this to myself?

This is my first blog. I have to warn you that I am not that great at writing, but decided to write about  my life as a tired mom. Don’t get me wrong…I LOVE to be a mom.  It’s hard, though.

Every day, I am available to everyone else’s needs but my own. This is just the life of a mom. You feed your kids first. You bathe your kids first. You dress your kids first. MAYBE by mid-afternoon, you might be able to do the same for yourself. So….when the kids are in bed and the house is quiet, I can finally relax and do my own thing. The only problem with this, is that I don’t want this time to end.  So night after night, I stay up late. It’s wonderful!  I can read quietly or I can choose to sit quietly and just relax. If I go to bed, this time will end. When I wake up, the quiet is over. So, night after night, I stay up late putting off bedtime, therefore, putting off the next day.  The problem with this, is that the next day I am EXHAUSTED!  Why do I do this to myself every night?  I’ve talked to several  friends who say they do the same thing. I guess it’s some kind of universal mom thing.  I probably should end this bad habit, but I can’t imagine not having this quiet time to myself.  Is there a way that we can extend the amount of hours we are able to sleep once we stay up late?  Is there a way we can have this time alone while time stands still? Nope.  Let’s face it. I should just be content with a small amount of quiet time and then get to bed earlier.  Sounds like a good plan…. for another night.  Right now I’m going to watch a little TV 😉

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ryananddoug
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 07:47:29

    I totally agree! I have the same issue and often stay up way later than I should!

    -Ryan

    Reply

  2. moreorlessAmanda
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 07:55:58

    I’m reading this at 3 a.m., because I am a mom who loves the quiet at night too well to go to bed at a decent time. I so get this! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Diana
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 05:55:49

    It doesn’t get better as you go along! First come s the kids~~~~Then comes the teens~~~~~~~~~`and then comes the college and being on thier own~~~~~~~~~~~~AND THEN COMES THE GRANDKIDS!

    This is God”s sense of humor at play! But ya gotta LOVE it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

